1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

agenda

READING CLUB

Thu 18.02.2016 | 20:00 > 21:30
€ 7 / 5
passa porta
EN

read & meet : richard ford

SOLD OUT

The only writer to have won both the Pulizer Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award for the same book (Independence Day, 1996), Richard Ford describes with singular acuity American society today in all its unsteadiness and paradoxicality. His recurring character, Frank Bascombe, is probably one of the most disillusioned heroes in literature.

 At Passa Porta, the author will sit down with about twenty readers of Canada, which won the Prix Fémina Etranger in 2013. This novel, in which the narrator is left to fend for himself after the robbery committed by his parents, will be dissected with the help of Steven Van Ammel, programme planner at the international house of literature and bookseller.

The ‘Read & Meet @ Passa Porta' reading club gives readers the chance to share their reading impressions not only with other readers, but also with the author. An exceptional encounter, in a small group, with this giant of American literature.

 

Richard Ford will also be present at Bozar on 16 February and at the Brussels Book Fair, of which he is the guest of honour, on 19 February.

 

ORG. Passa Porta in partnership with la Foire du Livre de Bruxelles

 

Photo: Laura Wilson

Bookmark and Share

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 

agenda

club de lecture

jeu. 18.02.2016 | 20:00 > 21:30
€ 7 / 5
passa porta
EN

read & meet : richard ford

COMPLET

Seul écrivain à avoir reçu le Prix Pulitzer et le PEN/Faulkner Award pour le même livre (Indépendance, 1996), Richard Ford décrit avec une acuité singulière la société américaine contemporaine, vacillante et paradoxale. Son personnage récurrent, Frank Bascombe, est sans doute l’un des héros les plus désabusés de la littérature.

A Passa Porta, l’auteur s’entretiendra avec une vingtaine de lecteurs de Canada, Prix Fémina Etranger 2013. Ce roman dans lequel le narrateur se retrouve bouleversé par le braquage commis par ses parents sera décortiqué avec l’aide de Steven Van Ammel, programmateur de la maison internationale des littératures et libraire. 

Le club de lecture « Read & Meet @ Passa Porta » donne aux lecteurs l'occasion de partager leurs expériences de lecture non seulement avec d'autres lecteurs, mais aussi avec l'auteur lui-même. Une rencontre exceptionnelle, en petit comité, avec ce monument des lettres américaines.

 

Richard Ford sera également présent à Bozar le 16 février et à la Foire du Livre de Bruxelles, dont il est l’invité d’honneur, le 19 février.

 

ORG. Passa Porta en partenariat avec la Foire du Livre de Bruxelles

 

Photo: Laura Wilson

Bookmark and Share