15.10.2013 - jonathan coe

Jonathan Coe, The Rotters’ Club (Viking)

 
Report of the meeting club

In our first Read & Meet we spoke to Jonathan Coe about his major socio-political novel The Rotters’ Club. Although Coe said he did not often reread his own work, the barrage of questions from the reading group soon refreshed his memory and so we were able to place both the novel and our reading experiences in context.

The Rotters’ Club contains numerous autobiographical elements (‘Benjamin Trotter is who I am and Doug Anderton is the boy I always wanted to be’), which led to digressions into growing up in the seventies, the influence the pop music of that time had on the novel, and the decline of Old Labour.

The Passa Porta Read & Meet has the enticing advantage that it is attended by the author of the book under discussion, which meant that we had the privilege of talking to Jonathan Coe about his writing technique, the use of what are called ‘found texts’, and the novel’s ambitious structure. A question about a particular comic passage led to an analysis of British satire and the fact that it is for the most part a conservative tradition, which Coe wanted to counter with a progressive voice.

Jonathan Coe also took the time to clear up several misunderstandings about the novel. For instance, he did not conceive The Rotters’ Club as an historical novel, which is made clear by the fact that its many storylines continue to develop in The Closed Circle. In fact, this book (often wrongly described as a sequel) and The Rotters’ Club together form a single novel. Coe also resists the notion that it is a young reader’s novel (despite the ages of the characters) which led to some consternation among the Italians present. It appears that in Italy the book has a large cult following among teenagers.

His memory having been refreshed, and having answered the many questions, Coe ended with the mischievous remark that it seemed to him to be a marvellous book. ‘You made it sound marvellous; I think I should read it one day.’


For those who would like to know more about Jonathan Coe and this novel, Steven Van Ammel recommends the following links:
 

  • An interview with Coe on the occasion of the BBC screen adaptation of The Rotter's Club.
  • Music plays an prominent part in The Rotter's Club and The Closed Circle. Especially so in the life of Benjamin Trotter, who has dedicated his whole life to "composing" a Great Novel like a piece of music. Jonathan Coe comments on the often complicated interactions between music and words and on his love of the High Llamas.
  • Among the favorite novels of the first guest of Read & Meet @ Passa Porta is a novel by the Czech author Bohumil Hrabal, who inspired Coe to write the last chapter of The Rotter's Club. The whole chapter consists of a single sentence of 1355 words. 
  • After Margaret Thatcher passed away, The Guardian asked Jonathan Coe to share of few of his memories of the Iron Lady.
  • Finally, Passa Porta had the pleasure of receiving Jonathan Coe earlier this year: as writer-in-residence and on the stage.
 

If you yourself have any comments on The Rotters’ Club that are worth reading, you can contact us at info@passaporta.be. Your reactions will be posted on this page.

15.10.2013 - jonathan coe

Jonathan Coe, The Rotters' Club (traduction française : Bienvenue au club, Folio)

Les participants au premier 'Read & Meet' ont eu le plaisir de discuter avec Jonathan Coe de son grand roman sociopolitique Bienvenue au club (version originale : The Rotter's Club). L'auteur a commencé par signaler être piètre relecteur de son œuvre propre, mais les nombreuses questions du groupe lui ont rapidement rafraîchi la mémoire et nous avons donc pu aborder le roman et faire le tour de nos expériences de lecture.


Bienvenue au club comprend un certain nombre d'éléments autobiographiques (« Je suis Benjamin Trotter, et Doug Anderton est le garçon que j'ai toujours rêvé d'être »). Il nous est donc arrivé de digresser, notamment sur le fait de grandir dans les années septante, sur la façon dont la musique pop de cette époque a influencé le roman, ou encore sur le déclin du Old Labour.

La présence de l'auteur concerné est l'un des points forts des rencontres Read & Meet @ Passa Porta. Nous avons ainsi eu le privilège de parler avec Jonathan Coe de ses techniques d'écriture, de l'utilisation de textes prétendument découverts et de la structure ambitieuse de son roman. Une question portant sur un passage comique a débouché sur une analyse de la satire britannique, traditionnellement conservatrice, à laquelle Jonathan Coe a voulu donner un ton progressiste.

L’auteur en a également profité pour rectifier certaines méprises. Ainsi, il n'a pas conçu Bienvenue au club comme un roman historique, ce qui transparaît dans le fait que les nombreux fils narratifs du livre sont développés plus avant dans Le cercle fermé. Souvent décrit abusivement comme une suite, ce dernier ouvrage forme en fait avec Bienvenue au club un seul et même roman. Jonathan Coe s'oppose également à l'idée qu'il s'agirait d'un roman d'adolescents (malgré l'âge des personnages), ce qui a suscité une certaine consternation auprès des participants originaires d'Italie, où l’ouvrage semble avoir acquis un statut de livre culte auprès des jeunes.

La mémoire rafraîchie, ayant répondu aux nombreuses questions, l’écrivain s'en est allé en remarquant malicieusement que ce livre devait être formidable. « You made it sound marvelous, I think I should read it one day » (« À vous entendre, c’est merveilleux. Peut-être que je devrais le lire à l’occasion »)


Pour en savoir plus sur Jonathan Coe et ce roman, nous vous recommandons ces quelques liens (en anglais):

  • Une interview avec Coe à l’occasion de l’adaptation télévisée par la BBC de Bienvenue au club.
  • La musique joue un rôle important dans Bienvenue au club and Le cercle fermé. En particulier pour Benjamin Trotter, qui a décidé de consacrer sa vie à la « composition » d’un Grand Roman comme s’il s’agissait d’une œuvre musicale. Jonathan Coe s’exprime sur les interactions souvent complexes entre la musique et les mots et sur sa passion pour le groupe londonien The High Llamas.
  • Parmi les romans préférés du premier invité du Read & Meet @ Passa Porta figure un livre de l’auteur tchèque Bohumil Hrabal, qui a inspiré Jonathan Coe pour l’écriture du dernier chapitre de Bienvenue au club. Ce chapitre tient entièrement en une seule phrase de 1355 mots. 
  • Finalement, Passa Porta a eu le plaisir de recevoir Jonathan Coe récemment, en tant qu’écrivain en résidence et sur scène.


Si vous avez encore des remarques, en tant que lecteur, au sujet de Bienvenue au club, contactez-nous à info@passaporta.be. Nous rassemblerons vos réactions sur cette page.