1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

agenda

read the world

Sun 08.10.2017 - Sun 08.10.2017
€ 12/10
flagey
EN

jonathan safran foer

On the occasion of the French translation of Here I Am (Me voici), published by éditions de l’Olivier, who have also published Jonathan Safran Foer’s previous books in French, Passa Porta and Flagey present Read the World by Jonathan Safran Foer, an evening in company of the author.

Just as tragic as it is hilarious, Here I Am simultaneously portrays a captivating family history and an world-changing disaster. How can we fulfill our conflicting tasks as father, husband, and son; as woman and mother; as child and adult? Jew and American? How can we claim our own identity when we owe so much to others? These are the essential questions Jonathan Safran Foer explores in his novel. And talks about on stage.

Born in Washington in 1977, Jonathan Safran Foer studied writing at Princeton University under Jeffrey Eugenides and Joyce Carol Oates. In 1999 he travelled to Ukraine to retrace his grandfather’s steps. This journey resulted in his first novel, Everything Is Illuminated, which combines the story of his personal investigation with the fabulous tale of a shtetl from 1791 to 1942. His second novel, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, portrayed a gifted child in search of his father in the wake of 9/11. This book delved deep into themes dear to Foer: death, Judaism, childhood confronted with the inconceivable repercussions of History, and the tremendous power of the imagination. Jonathan Safran Foer has earned a key position among young American writers, a position he confirmed by taking part in important public debates: his acclaimed non-fiction work Eating Animals (2009) stirred up quite some controversy.

Interview: Ruth Joos

ORG: Passa Porta, Flagey

Bookmark and Share

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

agenda

read the world

dim. 08.10.2017 - dim. 08.10.2017
€ 12/10
flagey
EN

jonathan safran foer

A l’occasion de la parution de Me voici (Here I am) aux éditions de l’Olivier, qui ont publié toute l’œuvre de Jonathan Safran Foer en français, Passa Porta et Flagey ont le plaisir d’accueillir l’auteur à Bruxelles.

Le livre, tragique et hilarant à la fois, mêle une captivante histoire familiale et un cataclysme mondial. Comment concilier nos tâches en tant que père, mari, et fils ; femme et mère ; enfant et adulte ? Juif et Américain ? Comment revendiquer notre propre identité si nous devons tant aux autres ? Ce sont autant de questions qu’aborde Foer dans ce roman. Il y reviendra sur scène, ainsi que sur les autres facettes de son travail d’écrivain en interaction avec le monde.

Né en 1977 à Washington, Jonathan Safran Foer fait ses études de lettres à Princeton sous la direction de Jeffrey Eugenides et Joyce Carol Oates. En 1999, il part pour l’Ukraine afin de retracer la vie de son grand-père. Ce voyage est à l’origine de son premier roman, Tout est illuminé, dans lequel il mêle le récit de son enquête personnelle à la chronique fabuleuse de la vie d’un shtetl entre 1791 et 1942. Son deuxième roman, Extrêmement fort et incroyablement près, qui met en scène un enfant surdoué à la recherche de son père après le 11 Septembre, approfondit les thèmes chers à Foer : la disparition, la judéité, l’enfance confrontée aux répercussions incompréhensibles de l’Histoire, et la formidable force de l’imagination. Jonathan Safran Foer acquiert, dès lors, une place capitale dans la jeune génération d’auteurs américains. Place qu’il confirme en prenant parti dans des débats de société avec Faut-il manger les animaux ?, un essai qui provoque louanges et polémiques.

Interview: Ruth Joos

Réservations par Flagey

ORG: Passa Porta, Flagey

Bookmark and Share