B Co S visuel

Along with Muntpunt, the Brussels Book Fair and Le 140, the international house of literature Passa Porta is part of ‘Brussels City of Stories’, a multifaceted project that aims to inhabit the territory of Brussels in a poetic way by filling the city with the stories of the people who live here. The challenge? Brussels, with its 180 nationalities and almost a hundred languages, is full of stories that are just waiting to be told!

This diversity is an incredible source of encounters.
Words, poems, texts, performances, but also images and sounds, are all ways for citizens to share their experiences and their visions of the world.
The project is participatory and aims to give a voice to the people of Brussels, regardless of their language, age, culture or social background. To bring their experiences together so that they resonate in the city through those who hear them, tell them and live them. Filling the city with stories!

First edition: March–July 2021

The first edition of Brussels City of Stories – an initiative of seven Brussels operators: Passa Porta, Muntpunt, Bozar, the Brussels Book Fair, Picture Festival, Le 140 and Ville des mots – took place in the spring of 2021. Events were organized to fill the city with words and stories: 70 organizations came together to organize 35 events in 7 different languages across 15 Brussels municipalities. At the opening of the Passa Porta Festival in March 2021, Passa Porta gave the people of Brussels the chance to have stories delivered to their homes or to a person of their choice. And last summer, Passa Porta sent story collectors Yelena Schmitz, Arno Boey, Milady Renoir, Oscar Briou and Christine Aventin to several Brussels terraces to collect the best, the craziest, the strangest stories before having them performed by actors on the terraces of De Monk, Millefeuille, New Plasky, Flamingo and Muntpunt Grand Café.

The complete programme and photos can be found here.

Second edition: Brussels City of Stories: Connections – March–July 2022

For this second edition, Brussels City of Stories will turn the spotlight on stories of encounters and interactions in and around public transport. Like stories, public transport connects places and people. Together with train stations, roads and other stops, transport facilities are places where thousands of people and therefore stories come together.

Sometimes, during a journey or while waiting for the bus or train, these stories intersect for the duration of an encounter. Some of these interactions can leave an impression on us, whether a positive one or not. They become stories we tell to make ourselves laugh, to bring to light a certain aspect of reality or an inequality in society, to make us think.

More than ever, public transport facilities are playing an increasingly important role in building our sense of community but also in the transition challenge. It is these encounters that this new edition will draw attention to. By making them visible in the public space, the aim is to confront travellers and commuters with the stories of other citizens and their experiences of the city. And what better way than through culture and the arts to capture all this movement?

Discover here more info about this second edition!

B Co S visuel

Aux côtés de Muntpunt, la Foire du livre de Bruxelles et le Théâtre 140, la maison internationale des littératures Passa Porta fait partie de « Brussels City of Stories » : un projet à plusieurs têtes visant à habiter le territoire de Bruxelles de manière poétique en remplissant la ville des histoires des gens qui y vivent. Son pari ? Bruxelles avec ses 180 nationalités et près d’une centaine de langues est remplie d’histoires qui ne demandent qu’à être racontées !

Cette diversité est une source incroyable de moments de rencontres. Mots, poèmes, textes, performances mais aussi images ou sons, sont autant de moyens de partager entre citoyennes et citoyens leurs expériences et leurs visions du monde.
Participatif, le projet souhaite donner la parole aux Bruxelloises et Bruxellois, quels que soient leur langue, leur âge, leur culture ou leur milieu social. Faire se rencontrer leurs
expériences pour qu’elles résonnent dans la ville à travers celles et ceux qui les
entendent, les racontent et les vivent. Remplir la ville d’histoires !

Première édition : mars-juillet 2021

La première édition de Brussels City of Stories née de l’initiative de sept opérateurs bruxellois - Passa Porta, Muntpunt, Bozar, la Foire du livre de Bruxelles, Picture Festival, Le 140, et La ville des mots - s’est déroulée au printemps 2021. Des événements ont permis d’occuper la ville de mots, et d’histoires : 70 associations mises en réseau, pour 35 animations dans 7 langues différentes, dans 15 communes de Bruxelles. En ouverture du Passa Porta festival en mars 2021, Passa Porta proposait aux Bruxelloises et Bruxellois de (se) faire livrer des histoires à domicile ou à la personne de leur choix. Et à l’été dernier, la Maison des littératures envoyait les collectionneurs d'histoires Yelena Schmitz, Arno Boey, Milady Renoir, Oscar Briou et Christine Aventin sur plusieurs terrasses bruxelloises afin de recueillir les histoires de café les plus fortes, folles, étranges avant de les voir interprétées par des comédiennes et comédiens sur les terrasses de De Monk, du Millefeuille, du New Plasky, du Flamingo et du Muntpunt Grand Café.

Le programme complet et les photos sont à retrouver ici.

Deuxième édition : Brussels City of Stories : Connections – mars - juillet 2022

Pour cette 2ème édition, Brussels City of Stories mettra en avant la thématique des histoires de rencontres et interactions autour et dans les transports en commun. Comme les histoires, les transports urbains connectent les lieux et les gens. Avec les gares, routes et autres arrêts, les transports sont des endroits où se côtoient des milliers de gens et donc d’histoires.

Quelquefois, lors d’un trajet ou en attendant le bus ou le train, ces histoires se croisent le temps d’une rencontre. Certaines de ces interactions nous marquent, positivement ou pas. Elles deviennent des histoires que l’on se raconte pour se faire rire, rendre compte d’une réalité ou d’inégalités, interpeller.

Les transports sont plus que jamais des voies vers ce qu’on appelle trop souvent sans le comprendre le « vivre ensemble », mais aussi vers les enjeux de transition. Ce sont ces rencontres que cette nouvelle édition racontera. En les rendant visibles dans l’espace public, il s’agira de confronter voyageuses et navetteurs aux histoires des autres citoyennes et citoyens et à leurs expériences de la ville. Et quoi de mieux que la culture et les arts pour rendre compte de tout ce mouvement ?

Découvrez ici plus d'infos sur cette deuxième édition !